The producers of the cooperative produce their own seed potato from the first generations which are Pre-Elite and Elite 1. Once planted, the potatoes join the following generation. For example, a potato who have been planted Elite 1 will be harvested Elite 2. It takes about two or three years for a variety before being marketed. A board of those generations which is called “Class” is presented below :

Generation
Planted Class
Harvested Class
1
Nuclear
Pre-elite
2
Pre-elite
Elite 1
3
Elite 1
Elite 2
4
Elite 2
Elite 3
5
Elite 3
Elite 4
6
Elite 4
Fondation
7
Fondation
Certified

La Patate Lac-Saint-Jean markets in majority varieties of Class Elite 3 and Elite 4. It’s important to note that the designations of  the generations may be different from a country to another, and sometimes, from a state to another.

Otherwise, a business within the cooperative, the Farm Daniel Bolduc et fils inc., possesses facilities as well as expertise for the  production of seed potatoes of Class Nuclear. Plantlets In vitro are preserved and multiplied in aseptic environment. Laboratory tests are done regularly on those plants to confirm the absence of viruses and bacterias. Those plantlets are cutted and may serve to the hydroponic production of mini-tubers. This culture without soil permit to get safe seeds of specific size. The safety during the production is constantly evaluated by Canadian Food Inspection Agency who certified the different steps of production.

Les producteurs de la coopérative produisent leurs pommes de terre Semence à partir des premières générations, soit Pré-Élite et Élite 1. Une fois plantée, les pommes de terre rejoignent la génération suivante. Par exemple, une pomme de terre semée Élite 1 sera récoltée Élite 2. Il faut environ deux ou trois ans à une variété avant d’être commercialisée. Un tableau de ces générations que l’on nomment classe, est présenté ci-dessous :

Génération
Classe semée
Classe récoltée
1
Nucléaire
Pré-Élite
2
Pré-Élite
Élite 1
3
Élite 1
Élite 2
4
Élite 2
Élite 3
5
Élite 3
Élite 4
6
Élite 4
Fondation
7
Fondation
Certifiée

La Patate Lac-Saint-Jean commercialise en majorité des variétés de classe Élite 3 et Élite 4. Il est important de souligner que les appellations de ces générations diffèrent d’un pays et, parfois même, d’un état à l’autre.

Par ailleurs, une entreprise au sein de la coopérative, la Ferme Daniel Bolduc et fils inc., possède les facilités ainsi que l’expertise pour la production de semences de pommes de terre de classe nucléaire. Des plantules in vitro sont conservées et multipliées en milieu aseptisé. Des épreuves de laboratoire sont régulièrement effectuées sur ces plants afin de confirmer l’absence de virus et de bactéries. Ces plants sont bouturés et peuvent servir à la production hydroponique de mini-tubercules. Cette culture sans sol permet d’obtenir des semences saines d’un calibre déterminé. La salubrité lors de la production est constamment évaluée par L’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments qui certifie les différentes étapes de production.